宗旨 | 新加坡福建会馆

宗旨

Education_2

培育英材

新加坡福建会馆于1849年成立属下第一所学府——崇文阁。多年来,它陆续创建了萃英书院,接办道南学校和爱同学校,创立了崇福女学校、南侨女子中学并附属小学以及光华学校。

初期,这些学校都沿用中国的教育体制和课业内容,以闽南语教导中华文化与传统价值观,如《论语》等。随着社会变迁,这些学府除了华语,也开始教导英语、数学等其他科目。

目前,福建会馆属下六校,即道南学校爱同学校崇福学校南侨中学南侨小学光华学校拥有11,000名学生和700位教职员。他们都坚守共同的校训和宗旨:

宗旨

  • 德、智、体、群、美五育并重
  • 灌输爱国爱群意识
  • 传授谋生技能的基本知识
  • 保存和弘扬中华文化及语言

校训: 诚毅,即待人要有诚意,做事要有毅力。

Culture

文化视窗

新加坡福建会馆向来积极保存和推广中华语言和华族文化。主要通过:

  • 2007年在福建会馆主导与全力资助下,双文化华文优选课程在属下的五所小学正式展开。这个课程的目的是让学生们探索亚洲的历史文化,更深入了解中华文化和价值观。
  • 成立文化艺术团培养年轻学子。文化艺术团成立于1986年,为少儿和成人开办各类文化课程及工作坊,包括:演艺班、书画班、语文班以及闽南语会话班等。文化艺术团所开办的“儿童演艺班”寓教于乐,深获好评,艺术团于是以此定位,专志于少儿培训活动的发展。自开创以来,数以万计的人受益。文化艺术团于2000年成立了青年演艺团。
  • 促进与其他闽籍会馆的合作,例如联办每两年举行一次的“新加坡福建文化节”。
  • 定期与传统艺术团体合作推广闽籍表演艺术。
  • 提倡并培养对华文华语的阅读与写作兴趣。每年举办新加坡福建会馆文学奖,包括:“福建会馆属校小学生华文作文比赛”、“全国中学生华文创作比赛——新蕾奖”,以及“新加坡大专文学奖”。
  • 通过每年出版刊物保存历史和文化,记录重要的口述历史档案。
  • 通过管理结合释、道、儒,以及祭祖的华人庙宇——天福宫之事务,扮演了传承传统文化的角色。

2012年福建会馆文化事业进入新的里程碑,为进一步履行会馆的创会宗旨和使命,更为进一步推广及深化华族传统文化与艺术,成立了新加坡福建会馆文化学院。文化学院为各年龄层提供课程,包括学前教育、语言、文化及人文课程。

新加坡福建会馆舞蹈剧场于2014年成为专业舞蹈团体,推广华族舞蹈,其舞蹈演出和培训侧重于中国古典舞及中国民族民间舞蹈。舞蹈剧场也提供中国民族民间舞蹈等级考试。舞蹈剧场在本地和海外的艺术领域都有卓越表现,也常受本地和海外机构及专业组织的邀请呈献演出或进行艺术交流。除了舞蹈演出,舞蹈剧场也为社区和学校提供外展项目。舞蹈剧场的宗旨是保留华族舞蹈的传统特色,同时推陈出新。

Social_Svc_2

Social_Svc_3

Social-Svc_1

布施喜舍

天福宫建于1839年。这个依海而建的庙宇是早期从福建南来的中国移民,为了答谢和祈求海上女神——妈祖保佑航程平安而建造的。新加坡福建会馆为社群提供了各方面的援助,旨在改善并提升福建社群的生活素质。会馆提供的社会福利援助包括:教育、丧葬服务和举行婚嫁仪式等。

福建会馆于1955年在裕廊地带捐献了523亩土地,以作为建造前南洋大学的用途。这所大学是当时东南亚地区的第一所华人大学。

这些年来,福建会馆致力于慈善公益,通过“福建基金”,慷慨捐献,为社会提供了多项资助,包括:

  • 团结族谊
  • 创办并维持教育学府
  • 弘扬与推广中华文化和语言
  • 颁发奖学金、助学金和职员在职培训计划
  • 保存国家古迹
  • 举办社会公益活动

其中受惠的机构有:

  • 新加坡科技设计大学
  • 英勇基金
  • 柯玉芝法律图书馆
  • 李光耀双语基金
  • 国大生命科学研究计划
  • 多所医院
  • 新加坡华族文化中心
  • 华社自助理事会

Border Go Top

联系我们

新加坡福建会馆

信立路5号
新加坡466781邮区
电话: +65 6222 8212
传真: +65 6225 7303

Mission | Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan

Mission

Education

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan set up its first school in 1849. Over the years, it built Chongwen Ge, Chui Eng Free School, Tao Nan School, Ai Tong School, Chong Hock Girls’ School, Nan Chiau High School and Kong Hwa School.

Initially, these schools adopted prevailing China’s curriculum and taught Chinese culture and values, including Analects of Confucius (Lun Yu 《论语》), in Hokkien. To meet the pace of societal changes, these soon gave way to offering English Language and Mathematics in addition to the Chinese Language.

Today, the six affiliated schools: Tao Nan School, Ai Tong School, Chongfu School, Nan Chiau High School, Nan Chiau Primary School and Kong Hwa School have a combined enrolment of 11,000 students and 700 staff. They share a common set of mission and motto:

Mission:
To provide for development in the moral, cognitive, physical, social and aesthetic spheres;

To instill a love for the nation and the community;

To equip students with basic life skills;

To preserve and promote Chinese language and Chinese culture.

Motto: Sincerity & Perseverance

Mission-Culture-Image-2

Mission-Culture-Image-3

Culture

The Huay Kuan has always made it its priority to preserve and promote Chinese language and Chinese culture.  Its main efforts include:

  • the Bi-Cultural Chinese Elective Programme (BiCEP), launched in 2007, in its five affiliated primary schools. The programme aims to empower pupils to discover their Asian heritage and to gain a deeper understanding of Chinese culture and values.
  • cultivating young talents through its Arts and Cultural Troupe. Formed in 1986, it conducts various cultural classes and workshops for both children and adults in performing arts, calligraphy, and Chinese language and Hokkien dialect lessons. Since its inception, thousands have benefited from the classes.
  • promoting ties among Min (闽籍) clan associations through joint events like the Singapore Hokkien Festival.
  • promoting Hokkien-related performing arts by collaborating with traditional arts troupes to present traditional Hokkien performances on a regular basis.
  • inculcating an interest in reading and writing the Chinese Language. It organises the annual Chinese Literary Awards which comprises the Affiliated Primary Schools Composition Writing Competition, National Secondary School Writing Competition – Xin Lei Jiang (新蕾奖); and the Tertiary Literary Awards.
  • keeping heritage and history alive via annual publications that capture significant oral history and archival information.
  • preserving and upholding traditional customs and culture through managing its temple, the Thian Hock Keng, where practices of Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism and ancestral worship can be found.

In 2012, the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Cultural Academy was set up to enhance the promotion of Chinese culture and further fulfil the vision and mission of the Huay Kuan. Programmes offered by the Cultural Academy include pre-school education, language, cultural and humanities classes for all age groups.

In 2014, the Huay Kuan formed the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Dance Theatre, a professional Chinese dance company that serves to promote dance courses and performing opportunities focusing primarily on Chinese Classical and Ethnic Folk Dance.  Graded programmes are offered through the classes conducted.

Social_Svc_2

Social_Svc_3

Social-Svc_1

Social Service

In 1839, Thian Hock Keng, built near Singapore’s original waterfront, was visited by Hokkien immigrants paying homage and giving thanks to Mazu for their safe passage down south. The Huay Kuan provided much welcomed help to the community and was instrumental in raising the overall quality of life of Hokkiens.  The Huay Kuan’s contribution in welfare and social services included providing education and burial services; and solemnizing marriages.

In 1955, the Huay Kuan donated 523 acres of its land in Jurong for the construction of the former Nanyang University, the first and only Chinese university in Southeast Asia.

Over the years, the Huay Kuan, through its charity arm, The Hokkien Foundation, has donated generously to further its cause.  Donations have gone towards:

  • Promotion of goodwill and fellowship;
  • Setting up and maintenance of institutions of learning;
  • Promotion of Chinese culture and language;
  • Awarding scholarships, bursaries and training awards;
  • Preservation of national monuments; and
  • Community events.

Some beneficiaries include:

  • Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • The Courage Fund
  • SMU Kwa Geok Choo Law Library
  • Lee Kuan Yew Fund for Bilingualism
  • NUS Life Science Research Project
  • Hospitals
  • Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre
  • Chinese Development Assistance Council

Border Go Top

STAY IN TOUCH

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan

5 Sennett Road Singapore 466781
TEL: +65 6222 8212
FAX: +65 6225 7303