LEAP Award 2019


The LEAP Award (飞跃教师奖), which stands for “Listening Educator for Advancement and Progress Award”, was launched by the late former President S R Nathan in 2011 and awarded by Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) annually to recognise exceptional teachers who have made a positive impact in nurturing their students from the heart. The naming of the award signifies a leap of faith for a teacher to believe that students have the potential to excel beyond their capabilities.

The award presentation ceremony was held together with the SHHK Teachers’ Day Appreciation Dinner on 5 Sep 19 at the Fairmont Singapore, Fairmont Ballroom. Mr Ong Ye Kung, Minister of Education, gracing the occasion as the Guest-of-Honour. Ten teachers were shortlisted from a total of 848 nominations to receive the annual LEAP Award from Minister Ong. The 10 award recipients are:

  1. Mdm Chua Siang Peng Ivy – Jing Shan Primary School
  2. Mdm Hasnira Binte Talib Grace – Orchard School
  3. Ms Kallaivanee d/o Paramaseevan – Chung Cheng High School (Yishun)
  4. Mr Lee Lian Hui Roy – Juying Secondary School
  5. Mdm Lee Wee Choo – Maha Bodhi School
  6. Ms Ng Shao Chui Delisa – Tao Nan School
  7. Mdm Nor Faatihah Binte Haron – Boon Lay Secondary School
  8. Mdm Angeline Ong Ling Ling – Gan Eng Seng Primary School
  9. Ms Phay Huey Ju – Yu Neng Primary School
  10. Ms Wee Lip Hui – Serangoon Garden Secondary School

Notices will be display here