LEAP Award 2021

Press Release

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan honours 13 teachers with annual LEAP Award

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) today honoured 13 outstanding teachers, nominated by school leaders, fellow teachers, students and parents nationwide, with the 10th LEAP Award!

Guest-of-Honour Mr Chan Chun Sing, Minister for Education, presented the LEAP Award to the six primary school teachers, five secondary school teachers and two special education teachers at a physical ceremony which took place at the SHHK Cultural Academy. The LEAP Award, which stands for Listening Educator for Advancement and Progress Award, was launched by the late President S R Nathan in 2011 and awarded by SHHK annually to recognise exceptional teachers who have made a positive impact in nurturing their students from the heart. The naming of the award signifies a leap of faith for a teacher to believe that students have the potential to excel beyond their capabilities.

Mr Thomas Chua, President of SHHK, said, “Having supported education for more than 100 years, SHHK strongly believes that teachers play an instrumental role in providing quality education. We are honoured to present the LEAP Award to celebrate the commitment of passionate and dedicated educators in the last decade. Since its inception, the LEAP Award has focused on the scaffolding, nurturing and inspiring qualities of educators and the emotional support they have given to students, parents and fellow teachers along the journey of teaching and learning. As society continues to face disruptions and challenges, these qualities are more important than ever to strengthen our collective resilience and emerge a stronger and more compassionate community.”

The Award received very encouraging response this year with 1189 nomination forms submitted for 478 teachers, the highest number of teachers being nominated since its launch in 2011.

LEAP Award 2021 Recipients (in alphabetical order):

1. Ms Aznita Bte Md Amin – APSN Tanglin School
2. Mrs Cheng Bee Leng – Nan Chiau Primary School
3. Mdm Hon Shuzhen – Dunman High School
4. Ms Kang Yin Ga Germain – Yuhua Secondary School
5. Ms Koh Bee Choo – Compassvale Secondary School
6. Dr Lee Chan Lye – NUS High School of Mathematics and Science
7. Mrs Patricia Lee – Holy Innocents’ Primary School
8. Mrs Ignatia Leng – Yu Neng Primary School
9. Mr Lim Ing Yew – Tanah Merah Prison School
10. Ms Nancy Neo – Grace Orchard School
11. Ms Tan Siew Chin Christina – CHIJ Kellock
12. Mrs Sharon Wang – Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School
13. Mr Xu Bin – Woodlands Primary School

Notices will be display here