Mr Thomas Chua at the Teachers’ Day Appreciation Dinner cum LEAP Award Presentation Ceremony






Guest-of-Honour, Deputy Prime Minister & Coordinating Minister for Economic Policies, Mr Heng Swee Keat,
Principals, teachers, ladies and gentlemen, a very good evening!

First of all, on behalf of Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan, a very warm welcome to one and all. We are truly happy and grateful that all of you can join us tonight at the Teachers’ Day Appreciation Dinner and LEAP Award Presentation Ceremony.

Tonight, we will be presenting the 12th LEAP Award to 12 outstanding teachers. They are carefully shortlisted from a total of 222 nominations received from 145 schools this year.

Out of the 12 awarded schools, five schools saw their first ever LEAP Award, namely, Presbyterian High School, Raffles Girls Primary School, Waterway Primary School, Zhenghua Secondary School and Zhonghua Secondary School. This is also the 5 schools’ first participation in the LEAP Award 可说是第一次参赛就得奖 – we thank you for your support and hope that more schools will join us in commending your teachers in the future.

I would also like to thank our esteemed panel of judges – Dr William Wan, Mr Ong Kian Choon, Dr Lim Seok Lai, Ms Wendy Yang, as well as Huay Kuan Education Committee Chair and Vice-Chair, Mr Anthony Tan, Mr Ong Chuon Yi and Mr Jimmy Teo – for your efforts in shortlisting the LEAP Award recipients.

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan has always been at the forefront in supporting education and we recognise the significant roles teachers play in this endeavour. Tonight, being here celebrating Teachers Day with all of you, seeing everyone having such a great time, I am again reminded that happy teachers produce happy students; healthy teachers produce healthy students. So, teachers, stay happy, stay healthy! We hope that all of you will have a wonderful evening, and bring back many happy memories.

Until next year, a very Happy Teachers’ Day! 祝大家教师节快乐!谢谢!

Notices will be display here