LEAP Award 2020

Press Release

Extraordinary times, extraordinary teachers – Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan honours 14 teachers with annual LEAP Award

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) today honoured 14 outstanding teachers, nominated by school leaders, fellow teachers, students and parents nationwide, with its annual LEAP Award. With 673 forms received and 292 teachers nominated, the Selection Panel saw the highest number of teachers being nominated since its launch in 2011. The 14 award recipients include seven primary school teachers, six secondary school teachers and one special education teacher.

As schools went into Full Home-Based Learning (FHBL) during the Circuit Breaker period, teachers nationwide had to quickly adapt to deliver the curriculum online, in addition to staying engaged with their students with only an online presence. In these trying times of unprecedented disruption, the selection panel decided to honour 14 extraordinary educators instead of the usual 10 recipients. The awardees were shown to have gone above and beyond their teaching duties, nurturing with their hearts, navigating new frontiers amidst ongoing uncertainties, and brought about optimal learning outcome for their students, whether online or in person.

Mr Tan Cheng Gay, President of SHHK, said, “Education is one of SHHK’s key missions. I am encouraged to see a record number of teachers being nominated this year. Dedicated teachers are key to quality education, and they play a pivotal role in preparing and moulding students for the future. The 14 LEAP Award recipients are exemplary and inspirational to all. I hope they keep up the good work, and continue to inspire and empower.”

The LEAP Award, which stands for Listening Educator for Advancement and Progress Award, was launched by the late former President S R Nathan in 2011 and awarded by SHHK annually to recognise exceptional teachers who have made a positive impact in nurturing their students from the heart. The naming of the award signifies a leap of faith for a teacher to believe that students have the potential to excel beyond their capabilities.

Adhering strictly to safe distancing measures, the very much scaled-down annual LEAP Award cum The Hokkien Foundation Arts & Cultural Award Presentation Ceremony was successfully concluded at SHHK Multi-Purpose Hall with about 25 distinguished guests and 14 recipients in attendance. Guest-of-Honour Mr Lawrence Wong, Minister for Education & Second Minister for Finance, presented the LEAP Award to the recipients.

LEAP Award 2020 Recipients (in alphabetical order):

1. Ms Ang Bee Lian – Tao Nan School
2. Mdm Ashikin Bte Abdul Ra’uuf – Ngee Ann Secondary School
3. Mdm Chua Jin Bei Cindy – Nan Chiau Primary School
4. Mr Goh Leng Wee Patrick – Blangah Rise Primary School
5. Mdm Lee Sin Chieh – Kong Hwa School
6. Ms Lin Jiaqi – Hillgrove Secondary School
7. Ms Ng Li Rong – Yuying Secondary School
8. Mrs Margaret Ng – CHIJ St. Joseph’s Convent
9. Mdm Nur Fazalina Binte Hussin – Kranji Primary School
10. Mrs Joanne Pinto – APSN Katong School
11. Mr Tay Peng Cheng Eric – Anderson Secondary School
12. Mdm Toh Siew Khim – Holy Innocents’ Primary School
13. Mrs Usha Surendran – Townsville Primary School
14. Mr Lawrence Alphonsus Yeo Kim Sen – Northlight School

Notices will be display here